

Individual excellence inspired by tradition and innovation 899 South Union Street • Grass Lake, Michigan 49240 (517) 867-5540 • Fax (517) 522-8195

Grass Lake Community Schools Organizational Meeting of the Board of Education

Monday, January 13, 2020 7:00 p.m.

George Long Elementary Library/Media Center

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Tim Waskiewicz Kimberly Seaburg Eric Burk Amy Humbarger Janey Bisard Kyle McClure Jonathan Claussen

ADMINISTRATORS

Ryle Kiser Doug Moeckel Jeanene Satterthwaite Michelle Clark **Brian Thompson** Ben Learned

GUESTS - 5

PRESIDING OFFICER: Amy Humbarger, President

Certified Correct

Jonathan Claussen, Secretary

Submitted by Debbie Brady



Individual excellence inspired by tradition and innovation 899 South Union Street • Grass Lake, Michigan 49240 (517) 867-5540 • Fax (517) 522-8195

Grass Lake Community Schools Organizational Meeting of the Board of Education

Monday, January 13, 2020 7:00 p.m.

Grass Lake High School
Library/Media Center

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Kiser at 7:00 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance and a Moment of Silence.

2. Approval of Agenda

Moved by Member Waskiewicz, supported by Member Burk, to accept the Organizational Meeting agenda as presented. All present voted Aye. Motion Carried.

3. Election of Officers

Dr. Kiser asked for nominations for President.

Motion by Member Waskiewicz, to nominate Kimberly Seaburg for President. Motion by Member Claussen, to nominate Amy Humbarger for President.

Comments by Member Waskiewicz to ask the members to consider their vote carefully.

There were no other nominations. The members voted their choice by roll call:

Member Waskiewicz – Kimberly Seaburg

Member Burk – Amy Humbarger

Member Claussen – Amy Humbarger

Member McClure – Amy Humbarger

Member Humbarger – Amy Humbarger

Member Seaburg - Kimberly Seaburg

Member Bisard – Amy Humbarger

Amy Humbarger was elected to the office of President.

President Humbarger took over running the meeting and asked for nominations for Vice-President.

Motion by Member Claussen, to nominate Kyle McClure for Vice-President.

There were no other nominations. The members voted their choice by roll call:

Member Waskiewicz – no vote
Member Kyle McClure – Kyle McClure
Member Jonathan Claussen – Kyle McClure
Member Eric Burk – Kyle McClure
Member Kimberly Seaburg – no vote
Member Amy Humbarger – Kyle McClure
Member Janey Bisard – Kyle McClure

Kyle McClure was elected to the office of Vice-President.

President Humbarger asked for nominations for Secretary.

Motion by Member Humbarger, to nominate Jonathan Claussen for Secretary.

There were no other nominations. The members voted their choice by roll call:

Member Waskiewicz – Jonathan Claussen

Member McClure - Jonathan Claussen

Member Burk - Jonathan Claussen

Member Bisard – Jonathan Claussen

Member Claussen – Jonathan Claussen

Member Humbarger – Jonathan Claussen

Member Seaburg – Jonathan Claussen

Jonathan Claussen was elected to the office of Secretary.

President Humbarger asked for nominations for Treasurer.

Motion by Member Seaburg, to nominate Janey Bisard for Treasurer.

There were no other nominations. The members voted their choice by roll call:

Member Waskiewicz – Janey Bisard

Member Seaburg - Janey Bisard

Member Burk – Janey Bisard

Member Bisard - Janey Bisard

Member Claussen – Janey Bisard

Member McClure - Janey Bisard

Member Humbarger – Janey Bisard

Janey Bisard was elected to the office of Treasurer.

4. Revised Committee Assignments

Athletic Committee – Janey Bisard, Eric Burk, Kyle McClure

Budget Committee – Janey Bisard, Kimberly Seaburg, Timothy Waskiewicz

Buildings and Grounds Committee – Jonathan Claussen, Kyle McClure, Timothy Waskiewicz

Policies and Personnel Committee – Janey Bisard, Amy Humbarger, Kimberly Seaburg

Support Services Committee – Eric Burk, Kyle McClure, Kimberly Seaburg

Technology Committee – Eric Burk, Jonathan Claussen, Timothy Waskiewicz

Jackson County School Board Rep. – Tim Waskiewicz, Alternate – Kyle McClure

Legislative Liaison – Kimberly Seaburg, Alternate – Janey Bisard

Educational Foundation Rep. – Kimberly Seaburg

5. Name Signatures for Financial Institutions

Moved by Member Seaburg supported by Waskiewicz, to approve the named signatures for the financial institution accounts as presented:

General Fund Savings - (Superintendent and Business Manager)

Partnership Liaison – Janey Bisard, Alternate – Kimberly Seaburg

General Fund Checking - (Superintendent, Board President, and Board Treasurer)

<u>Debt Retirement</u> – (Superintendent, Board President, and Board Treasurer)

<u>Payroll</u> - (Superintendent, Board President, and Board Treasurer)

<u>Cafeteria</u> - (Superintendent, the Administrative Assistant and the Business Manager)

<u>Athletics</u> - (Superintendent, Administrative Assistant, Athletic Director, and Business Manager)

Student Activities – (Superintendent, the Administrative Assistant or Business Manager)

Flexible Spending - (Superintendent, Board President, and Board Treasurer)

All present voted Aye. Motion Carried.

6. Adjournment

Business complete, meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.